Portrait

History

In family ownership since 1948
Our history began on 1 March 1948. The married couple Trudy and Adolf Erni lease the Grotto Cacciatori in Cademario.  Nine years later they buy it and furnish the five guest rooms with running water and central heating.  “Chicken on a spit” is served in the restaurant – a big hit. In 1968 the hotel is expanded by 12 double rooms, a dining room, and a sitting room with reception as well as a large kitchen. 
Son Andrea and his wife take over
Since 1986 son Andrea and his wife Elisabeth have now been managing the hotel with a fine feeling for the wishes of the guests. Under their management the hotel is initially practically totally renovated over the following years and then expanded by a new building with 11 large and comfortable rooms and a conference/seminar room. Also the old hotel facade receives a new look. In the meantime the restaurant enjoys an excellent reputation in the whole of Tessin – awards follow.
Innovative and modern into the millennium
Investments continue in the new millennium. Following the solar-heated freshwater swimming pool in the year 2000 the bathrooms in the “Rustica” comfort-rooms are renewed and new furniture is installed in the standard rooms. In 2004 the pool area is expanded by the soul-experience bath – unique in Sottoceneri. In 2006 and 2007 the sauna landscape and the treatment rooms are added. By 2010 the car park and the entry area including lounge have a makeover.
Distinctions and awards
The commitment was worthwhile: in 2012 the Hotel & Spa Cacciatori receives its fourth star from the Swiss hotel industry. But not only the infrastructure, but also the service is right: 
2017, 2016 and 2015 it is named as one of the 100 friendliest hotels in Switzerland and gains in 2017 fiveteenth place in the “small and fine” category.